#2 Forward with the goat!

Throwback #2

Hello! 🙈

Last time I ate too many stroopwafels so I really had to exercise. I immediately rolled up my sleeves, had myself a firm breakfast, went outside, walked to the bus stop and hopped on the bus to go to work. Pretty lazy… I know! But I am still not used to riding the bike in the city center. Especially in the mornings. I am too afraid I will get run over, I guess.

It is not an excuse, I swear. 😇

Every Thursday, the company where I intern organises a bootcamp at the Vondelpark. I thought it would be nice to get to know the team a little bit better, and exercise, obviously. 🙄

throwback 2
Vondelpark, Amsterdam

The Vondelpark is Amsterdam’s most popular park. Trees, ponds and flowers surrounded me during the workout. Pretty cool, I must say! If you truly want to experience the green side of Amsterdam, you should visit this park. Most people compare it to New York’s Central Park. Except this park is not located in the center… After the bootcamp, I regret having taken part. Not because of the surroundings, but because I thought my legs were dying! 😭

On Friday, we had an afterwork party or borrel as they call it here. We invited some people over to celebrate our one-month-at-the-new-office-anniversary! I have met so many nice dutchies that day.

Later that week, I decided to visit the cherry blossom park in Amstelveen. I went by bike! It was a 15km ride from Amsterdam Noord to Amstelveen… and I still had to ride back. So yeah… you do the math!

Once arrived, I chilled a bit. It was extremely crowded. The Cherry Blossom festival hits the Amsterdamse Bos every year, celebrating the return of spring to the city. The Japanese Sakura celebration is traditionally celebrated by picnicking with family and friends under blossoming cherry trees. Flowers – and nature in general – are particularly symbolic throughout Japanese culture, and the cherry blossom represents both a new beginning and the fragility of life. 💕

amsterdid-throwback-amstelveen
Surrounded by Sakura trees.

While undoubtedly a favourite with Japanese expats from the Amsterdam Area and beyond, the Cherry Blossom Festival attracts a broad cross-section of residents who are keen to enjoy the blossoms, as well as partake in traditional Japanese food and drink in the festival tent.

Looking forward to update you!

throwback2-cheers

xoxo

Houdie

Leave a Reply

