#5 Own fault, thick bump.

Throwback #5

Konichiwa! 🙏🏼

I hope you are all doing well. It feels good to be writing again.

When we think about traveling somewhere, certain questions are obvious. Where should I go, and when? I have always dreamt of traveling to Japan. 🇯🇵 People want to go to Japan for all sorts of reasons: sushi, culture, martial arts, anime, nature, robots or even to pursue a romantic relationship. Definitely not the latter in my case but the culture! Japan has such a fascinating and multifaceted culture. 🤗

Apparently, they even have heated toilet seats. 💩This should be adopted in more countries. They run hot water under the lid so it is less painful going to the bathroom during the freezing winter months. How clever!? I cannot wait to visit this country.

Ok so why am I talking about Japan if I am staying in Amsterdam?! Well… I recently went to an exhibition with my brother: Cool Japan at the Museum Volkenkunde in Leiden, which is approximately 20 minutes by train.

Pokémon, Hello Kitty, robots and samurai – all international icons of Japanese visual culture. Japan is known for its ancient traditions, and yet it is also hip and happening, with occasional extravagant visual excesses. The exhibition highlights the popularity of contemporary Japan, and places it in a historical context. It was pretty cool.

On Sunday, I went out with a friend in Amsterdam. We had a few drinks and a good laugh in Van Harte in the Negen Straatjes. I do not know if you have ever seen the film Hartenstraat… but I truly recommend it. You can see the café in the film. I only realised afterwards… All good things come to an end. It was getting late and we decided to go home and then… I dropped my phone. 😭💔

amsterdid-throwback-5

Last weekend I wanted to go to Rotterdam. However, the weather was terrible ☔️ so I decided to stay at home and clean up my mess and watch Japanese dramas.

This week my manager went on a holiday, which means I will be alone in the office. Therefore, I asked if I could work from home. He approved so I took the bus to Belgium. I will be staying here for the week and will be going back in the weekend.

Arigato gozaimasu,

Houdie

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Alexander Bleyaert says:

    Heated seating toilets? Gotta love Japan 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stef Dedobbeleeer says:

    Hahaha zalig bericht! wel kut van u gsm!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

